--- title: "How to manage users" slug: "how-to-manage-users" updated: 2026-11-06T16:36:04Z published: 2026-11-06T16:36:04Z canonical: "docs.senhasegura.io/how-to-manage-users" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.senhasegura.io/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # How to manage users User creation and management are crucial to the administration of security systems, as they allow granular control of access and actions, authentication and authorization of each user, auditing, and identity management. These practices not only help protect sensitive data from unauthorized access but also ensure that each user can only access the information and tools they need for their specific tasks. ## Requirements - Be registered/enabled as a PAM operator or system administrator in Segura™. ## Path to access 1. On Segura™, in the navigation bar, hover over the **Products menu** and select **Settings**. 2. In the side menu, select **Users Management > Users**. ## Create user 1. In the **Users** report, in the top bar, click the **Add** button. 2. In the **Add Use** screen, fill in the fields as indicated. ### Settings tab In this tab, you should enter the user's general settings. 1. **Name**: name of the user. For example, Test. 2. **User name**: user's username. For example, segurateste. 3. **New password**: fill in a temporary password, as the user will be required to change it on their first access. 1. You can also leave no password set or generate a password. To generate a password, select the **Set current password** toogle button and click on the **Generate** button. To display the password, either filled in or generated, click the **Hide/Show password** button (eye button). 2. When creating a new password, the user must pay attention to the characters allowed: 1. **Latin letters** (for example: `A-Z`, `a-z`). 2. **Numbers** (for example: `0-9`). 3. **Special characters** (for example: `\! @ \# $ % ^ & \* ( ) \_ \+ \[ \] { } | ; : , . \< \> ? / \~`). 4. **Diacritics and Accented Characters**: (for example: `Á`, `á`, `â`, `ç`, `Ç`, `Ñ`, `Ü`). 5. **Nordic and Germanic characters** (for example: `Å`, `ß`, `Æ`, `Ø`). 6. **Cyrillic (Russian) characters** (for example: `А-Я`, `а-я`). 7. **Copyright symbols** (for example: `®`, `©`). Info If the user doesn't set a password, Segura™ will generate a password that will be sent by e-mail. 1. **Department**: in the drop-down menu, choose the department to which the user belongs. 2. **E-mai**l: fill in the user's email address. Attention If the user you want to register is already a Segura™ **Domum** user, it won't be possible to register them with the same email address used to access Domum. If you try to register, the following message will alert you: “There is already a **Domum** user with the e-mail address `teste@segura.com`. Use another e-mail address.” 1. **Telephone**: fill in the user's telephone number. Use the 55-11-12345678 format. 2. **Status**: indicate the status in which the user will be created. It can be **Active** or **Inactive**. 3. **User groups**: from the dropdown menu, select the user group the user will part of it 4. **Reviewer**: optionally, select the user's direct reviewer for review and certification campaigns. Type part of a name or username to search the list. The list shows active users only and does not include the user you are editing. To remove a reviewer, click the clear icon. 1. Segura™ refuses a user as their own reviewer, with the message *A user cannot be their own reviewer.* It also refuses a reviewer whose chain of reviewers leads back to this user. 2. A user who is also a member of a user group with a reviewer has both reviewers. For how reviewers add up, see [Reviewers and global approvers](/v4-2/docs/about-access-review-reviewers). Info To review users, the reviewer needs the **Access review and certification** role. Selecting a user as a reviewer does not grant this role. ### Roles tab In this tab, you should add the user's roles. 1. Click on the **Add** button to open the **Roles** modal. 2. In the **Roles** modal, select the role that will be added to the user. 1. You can select more than one role. 3. Click **Add**. 4. Click **Continue**. ### Access policies tab In this tab, you'll need to indicate the **Access policies** to which the user will belong. To do this, select the checkbox for each group you want to add the user to. To finish creating the user, click **Continue**. ### Inactivate a user It's possible to inactivate a user on Segura™. This action only prevents the user from accessing the platform, keeping all their data intact. To inactivate a user, follow these steps: 1. In the **Users** report, identify the user you want to inactivate, click **Actions** button and select **Edit**. 2. On the **Add User** report, under the **Settings** tab, select **Disable** on the Status **option** and save it. If the inactivated user is the direct reviewer of other users, those users pass to the inactivated user's reviewer. If the inactivated user has no reviewer, the global approver reviews those users. If the inactivated user is the reviewer of a user group, the group gets the inactivated user's reviewer in the same way. The audit log records the reassignment with the origin *Review reassignment due to reviewer deactivation*. On the inactivated user, the **Review reassignment** section lists the new **Subordinates' reviewer** and the **Reassigned subordinates**. ### Reactivate a user Once a user has been inactivated, it's possible to reactivate that same user, restoring their access and data. To reactivate a user, follow these steps: 1. In the **Users** report, identify the user you want to inactivate, click **Actions** button and select **Edit**. 2. On the **Add User** report, under the **Settings** tab, select **Enabled** on the Status **option** and save it. Info The user who has been reactivated will reappear in the system as active. Note that the Deactivation date column will be blank even if this user has been deactivated previously. ## **Forget a user** The action of forgetting a user masks all their personal data, making it impossible for any other user to access it. To forget a user, follow these steps: Alert This action is irreversible. 1. In the **Users** report, identify the user you want to forget, click the **Actions** button and select **Forget user**. 2. In the confirmation modal, read the information carefully and click **Yes**. ### Access a user’s history You can view or print a report with the user's entire history. This type of action is essential for audits and internal control. To access a user's history, follow these steps: 1. In the **Users** report, identify the user you want to forget, click the **Actions** button and select **History**. 2. The **User History** displays all the user's information and actions. ## Edit a user You can edit the data of a user already registered within Segura™. This type of action is useful when contact or access information needs to be updated, for example. To change a user's settings, follow these steps: 1. In the **Users** report, identify the user you want to inactivate, click **Actions** button and select **Edit**. 2. The **Add User** window will open in edit mode. 3. Change the necessary data and save it.